Psalm 86:11

“Teach me your way, O Lord and I will walk in your truth;

give me an undivided heart that I may fear your name.

Psalm 86:11″

I love this verse. The truth in it just pulls on my heart strings so much. I desire to walk in the Lord’s truth. To live according to His word (Psalm 119:11). The second half of this verse jumps out at me most. With all the distractions in this world that are trying to earn our affections and basically get us to, in a sense, worship them, it is so important that we stay committed to God’s Word. It is our source of truth! The psalmist cries out to God saying, “give me an undivided heart that I may fear your name.” Bottom line: we cannot be satisfied by God and try to fulfill ourselves by the world’s standards. Our focus must be on Christ. The encouragement and prayer I take from this is that God would grant us grace to focus our hearts on Him. We cannot be divided between God and the world’s standards. Our hearts must be undivided.

God help me to fix my eyes on You, the Author and Perfector of my faith. And in turn, build me up as a man after Your heart, that I may stay committed to You.

Selah.

Image



Leave a comment